Car insurance quotes colorado, Whether you’re hitting the slopes or heading to the office, make sure you have valid Colorado car insurance when you drive in the Centennial State. Drivers who fail to show proof of insurance can face penalties upwards of $500, points added to their driving record, and in some cases suspended licenses and community service hours. Drivers are also required to show proof of insurance to the Colorado Bureau of Motor Vehicles to register vehicles. If you need car insurance or want to switch companies, you can get Colorado car insurance quotes online.
Car insurance quotes colorado Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
Vehicle owners driving on Colorado roads are required to have at least the following minimum limits on their insurance policy:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $15,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident*
- Medical payments: $5,000 per accident*
*Uninsured motorist and medical payments can be rejected by signing an option form.
There are additional optional coverages that you may carry to better protect yourself and your vehicles. A GEICO insurance counselor can assist you in choosing the best Colorado auto coverage for your needs.
Car insurance quotes colorado Teen Driver Licensing Process
For Colorado teens who want to get their license on their 16th birthday, they’ll need to start driver’s education before age 15. Colorado requires teens to have held a learner’s permit for at least 12 months before applying for a Colorado driver’s license. Colorado law prohibits drivers under 18 years of age from using a mobile phone while driving unless it is to contact the police, fire department, or it is an emergency. Drivers 18 and older may not use a mobile phone for text messaging while driving unless it’s to contact the police, fire department, or it’s an emergency.
The process for obtaining a driver’s license varies depending on the driver’s age:
- If you start at or before age 15 and 6 months, you must complete a 30-hour driver’s education course before you can apply for a learner’s permit (minimum age 15). Permit holders who have logged 50 hours driving time, completed a 6 hour behind-the-wheel training course, and have held their permit for at least 12 months can then apply for a driver’s license.
- If you start between age 15 and 6 months up to age 16, you can either complete a 30-hour driver’s education course or a 4-hour classroom driver awareness program to be eligible for a learner’s permit. Permit holders who have logged 50 hours driving time (plus 6 hours behind-the-wheel training if you are younger than 16 years and 6 months when you apply for a license) and who have held their permit for at least 12 months can then apply for a driver’s license.
- If you start at age 16 or 17, there are no prior driver’s education requirements before being eligible to apply for a learner’s permit. Permit holders who have logged 50 hours driving time and who have held their permit for at least 12 months can then apply for a driver’s license. Additional 6 hours behind-the-wheel training is optional.
For the first year licensed driving is prohibited between midnight and 5 am, unless accompanied by an instructor, parent, or legal guardian.
Car insurance quotes colorado Registration Information
If you have recently moved to Colorado, you must apply for a Colorado title and registration for your vehicle within 30 days from establishing Colorado residency. You will need to apply in the County Motor Vehicle Office in the county where you reside.
The following documents are required car insurance quotes colorado :
- Your out-of-state title, or current out-of-state registration.
- If you live in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Douglas, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Pitkin or Weld counties, you must show proof of a Colorado vehicle emissions test.
- A vehicle identification verification form (DR 2087) completed by a law enforcement officer, a licensed Colorado motor vehicle dealer or a licensed Colorado emissions testing station.
- A current and accurate odometer reading.
- Proof of vehicle insurance coverage (insurance card, copy of insurance policy or letter from your insurance company on the company’s letterhead paper).
- If a lien exists on an out-of-state title, the lienholder’s name and address must be provided if not shown on the out-of-state title or registration.
Once you arrive at the county Motor Vehicle office, you will need to pay the title and registration fees.
Your Colorado title will be mailed to you if there are no liens filed against the vehicle. If there is a lien, the title will be mailed to the lienholder. Please allow 4 to 6 weeks for delivery.
Affordable insurance companies in car insurance quotes colorado
What’s the cheapest car insurance in Colorado?
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|9||Colorado Farm Bureau||$2,475|
COLORADO CAR INSURANCE AVERAGE SAVINGS FOR GOOD DRIVERS
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$311||17.7%|
Colorado Car Insurance FAQs
Who has the cheapest Car insurance quotes colorado ?
What is the average cost of Car insurance quotes colorado?
The average cost of car insurance in CO is $878 for a six-month policy. This will set you back $146/month.
Why is Colorado car insurance so expensive?
Colorado is 6% cheaper than the national average for car insurance. If you feel you’re paying too much for insurance, use our free insurance comparison tool to see competitive rates from GEICO, Progressive, State Farm, and Esurance.
How much does Car insurance quotes colorado cost in Colorado cities?
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Fort Collins, Colorado, and the most expensive in Pueblo, Colorado.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|